Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Should I move from iPhoto 11 to Aperture?

I've been using iphoto for probably around 7 years. During which time I've experienced a couple of catastrophic library corruptions but was able to restore from backup. The most recent of which was today!

For me the safety of my photo library is probably the most important thing on my computer.

I'd like to hear opinions if it's a good idea to move to aperture. If I do it will be for photo organization and tools rather than photo editing. I do have a copy of Elements 10.

Thanks for the opinions in advance

Steve.

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.2), 16G of RAM, Pegasus R4

Posted on Jan 31, 2012 11:04 PM

7 replies

Feb 1, 2012 1:15 AM in response to Steve McRea

Impossible to say, really.

Believe it or not but iPhoto 11 uses the same database engine as Aperture 3, so it should be equally robust. It is certainly true that there are a lot less of the "Oh No iPhoto Lost All My Photos!!!!!!!!!!!!!!" type posts on this forum - and a lot less exclamation marks too - but then it's reasonable to infer that many of the users here are more experienced users than on the iPhoto forum. That may account for the difference.

Aperture is a much more powerful app than iPhoto and there is a learning curve. The opportunities for organising are more varied and flexible, but also more complex. It's much much better with Referenced Libraries.

Aperture is geared to the Pro shooter who shoots high volumes and probably Raw. If you're shooting Jpeg and low volume it may be overkill. If you're a serious hobbyist it definitely has value. If you're taking snaps of the kid's birthday party to send to GrandMa it may be overkill. So it really depends on the kind of photographer that you are.

The best thing to do is to download the free trial -

http://www.apple.com/aperture/

import a few hunderd images and explore. The tutorials here