Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Lacie d2 quadra 2TB, Time Machine

I'm new to the time machine usage. I had a 160gb lacie external that wasn't large enough to back up my imac's internal hard drive. I just bought a Lacie d2 quadra with 2TB of space, way more than needed for a simple backup. I have no idea what to do except reading the quick install guide, where you just plug up and it's ready to turn time machine on. So I turned it on last night and it did it's magic. This morning I open up the lacie to see how files were stored/backed up. It's all in folders with dates, hourly backups so there are already multiple folders with the same data backed up each hour. After looking on time machine I read "the oldedst backups are deleted when your disk becomes full". Will it continue to fill up my 2TB of the lacie? I just simply wanted my internal hard drive backed up and my 160gb external also if possible (or just a copy of it saved). Do i need to 'partition' my 2TB hard drive? I don't even know if that's the right word, but wouldn't that decrease the size of the back up space so it can begin to "delete" oldest backups when full?

I think my question is: Will I need to partition my 2TB external hard drive to make backups? If so what space will it need & how to do this. Will doing this keep it from filling up the 2TB space? I'm wanting to keep my imac's internal hard drive pretty empty so it's working power is at maximum.

question: What do you do with itunes and iphoto? Continue to leave them on the internal drive and filling up space? Or could I move one or both to the 2tb external without issues? What's the directions for that also?

Sorry I couldn't find an answer to these, but hoping I can be directed to the right answers, Thanks!

iMac (20-inch Late 2006), Mac OS X (10.6.8), 2.16 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Posted on Feb 2, 2012 8:20 AM

Question marked as Best reply