Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mail merge a numbers document using applescript

I am totally new to Applescript so I have no idea what the limitations are. I am trying to write an applescript that will open a template then open mail merge pick a Numbers document named "new bid" and run the mail merge for me. Is this possible? So far I am able to get the template to open using the following script

tell application "Finder"

activate

open document file "Proposal.template" of folder "My Templates" of folder "Templates" of folder "Pages" of folder "iWork" of folder "Application Support" of folder "Library" of folder "myname" of folder "Users" of startup disk

end tell

Pages 09-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Feb 8, 2012 9:19 PM

2 replies

Feb 9, 2012 6:57 PM in response to Jonshutz

To clarify....I have a numbers document that I use to generate the numbers and information I need to create a proposal. I have a template set up in Pages 09 that I need to fill in the blanks. I can open Pages and run the mail merge manually and it works great. I was hoping I could run a script that would run as soon as I save the numbers file as "new bid" that would open Pages click edit, click mail merge, select the "new bid" numbers document as the souce and run the mail merge. If I could also get it to save the document as a PDF that would be awesome.

Thank you....Jon

Feb 19, 2012 5:15 AM in response to Jonshutz

Jon,

Since no one else has been responding, I'll chime in with a few thoughts here.