Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help with Aperture & Automator

Hi, I'm fairly new to Aperture and I'm hopeful that someone can help me automate a process that will make my life a lot easier.

I regularly save my original photographs into a folder on my desktop, the folder containing sometimes up to a thousand 6MB sized photos. I want to copy the contents of the folder that contains these photographs, resize them to 25% and then add a preset sharpening of Intensity 0.39 & Radius 4.69 in Aperture.

I have set up Automator as follows:

Copy Finder Items ( where I manually select all the images and drag them to the Automator app that I have named Resize & Sharpen )

Scale Images by Percentage (25%)

Import Photos (Aperture)

Apply Image adjustment Preset Sharpen (where my preset is Intensity 0.39 & Radius 4.69)

The process seems to work fine, in that it is copying, scaling & importing to Aperture but does not seem to apply the sharpening preset.

Any help would be really appreciated

Aperture 3, Mac OS X (10.6.8), Also use Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Feb 18, 2012 12:19 PM

9 replies

Feb 19, 2012 6:02 AM in response to Frank Caggiano

Hi Frank - thanks for the suggestion but I can't upload either a tiff or jpg of my workflow ( see below ) I do have another one where I just resize the images and that works perfectly, every time, it appears to be the process of adding the sharpening where it fails.

I'm also having difficulty putting my image on to this post, even using the icon to do so, I'm finding the image, but the option to "insert image" at the bottom right of the window remains greyed out ( the image is only 143KB - so its not a size issue! )

Am I missing something obvious?