Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

how long does disk utility's Repair Disk take?

I have a 2 TB western digital drive that showed as having problems in Disk utility (I was in Disk Utility because the drive was not showing up in Finder). I clicked 'Repair Disk' and very quickly got the message 'Volume Repair Complete' and then on a second line "Updating boot support partitions for the volume as required.". That was approximately 16 hours ago. It's been running since with no message or indication of progress. Is this normal? I've never used Disk Utility for a repair before so I don't know how long these things take, but that seems to be an excessive amount of time. Can anyone offer any suggestions or info?

Thanks

MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010), Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Feb 20, 2012 2:50 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 20, 2012 2:58 PM

my 500 gb takes about 15 minutes

10 replies

Feb 20, 2012 3:02 PM in response to gsamagh

I had that happen recently. In my case the disk was fully repaired and OK, and Disk Utility was saying it wasn't.

Try opening another Disk Utility window (command-N) and run it again on the same volume. If it checks out OK, just quit Disk Utility. When the original window tells you that it is still running and asks if you are sure you want to quit, answer yes.

Jul 12, 2013 7:11 AM in response to gsamagh

This seems to be not a one off problem.

I have a WD MyBook 1TB drive, and it suddenly no longer mounts. The WD Smartware unlock app launches fine and lets me unlock it, and the WD Smartware virtual CD mounts. But the drive doesn't mount. Disk Utility says it has to be repaired, so I clicked it, and that seems to just be hanging.

If anyone has any news about this, do let me know. (Or if you know how to get at the data on in any way at all...)

In the meantime I guess I'll try WD support 😕