Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Help - Time Capsule Died?

Hey folks, my time capsule which has been working for a good 24 months has suddenly died - it appears to power on - I get an amber LED then after 60 seconds it just dies and nothing. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Mac OS X (10.6.4), iMAC,iPad,Iphone,iPod Touch

Posted on Feb 22, 2012 2:43 PM

8 replies

Feb 22, 2012 4:22 PM in response to mynameisearl

I have the same problem. I have been using this TC for over 3 years without any problems until a few months ago when I started having problems with my internet connectivity occasionally. I have been ignoring it because I was able to get it working again by turning everything on and off. Last night it died...like you said, the amber LED powers on then after a few seconds it dies. I was able to get it working again after 30 minutes working on it. This morning, it died again. I ruled out my internet provider's modem because I got internet connection when I connected my Shaw cable modem directly to the computer ,nor my Vonage modem because it is also working well after reconnecting my old DLink router. My last option now is to do a hard or factory default reset which I have not attempted yet . Will let you know if this will help. Hopefully, someone from the community can help us.

Feb 22, 2012 4:41 PM in response to jjtopspin

If the LED has gone off there is no way to reset or do anything.. it would not help anyway as the power supply is now dead.

If you have applecare on a computer.. (sometimes ipad is accepted and sometimes not), and the TC is less than 3 years old, Apple should replace it. They will not recover files or do anything, and you will get a refurbished one with same size drive as the old one.

Otherwise you will need to repair the power supply, replace it with external power supply or get a repairer to fix it for you.