Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Scripting ARD/Automator UNIX commands with wildcard folder names

Hello all and thanks in advance -

I am a teacher and defacto IT admin at a school and trying to solve how to clone parental control settings effectively. I am trying to write this unix command that I can create as a service in automator to be able to execute to any remote machine.

dscl . -mcximport /Users/techmacXXX /Users/administrator/parental_settings.plist

The user names from the target computers are long form Tech Mac XXX (using numbers 101-154) or Design Lab 1-26. The short forms are similarlytechmac101, designlab22, etc. I have an administrator account on each machine using the same name.

Using /Users/techmac* does not work, however much I feel as though it should, and I cannot find any information as to how to script using wildcards that DOESNT just suggest an asterisk. Right now I can run the command manually for each machine but that's quite a headache (though better than the previous situation of manually editing w/ sysprefs.

It would be amazing if I could have the automator catch the shortform of the current user (the machines will always be logged in the student accounts) and input that into the above command. That way I could just copy the new .plist to the remote machines, and run the UNIX command on any and all at once.

All the machines are Lion 10.7.2 and I am using Lion 10.7.3

I appreciate the wise counsel of the forum. Thanks for any assistance!

Apple Remote Desktop-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Feb 29, 2012 2:08 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Feb 29, 2012 9:43 PM