Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Aperture 3 incomplete vault restoration

Background: I just recently had to wipe my hard drive clean. I first backed up my library using Aperture's "vaults" system and put them on two external drives and stupidly the RAW files no where else. I realize now that I lost all of my RAW files, but seeing as how I just started shooting RAW around a year ago, I'm hoping to salvage the JPEGS and move on from there. I have no idea wether my library was referenced or managed (I still don't remember the difference and it makes me mad that I should have to go through all this trouble just to organize my photos!) and this is part of the reason I'm moving away from Aperture (it's so complicated and disorganized!).

Problem: I tried to restore the vaults in Aperture with both drives plugged in. After it was finished, I could see that all (or from what I could tell) the projects seemed to be there, but not all of the images. In the browser viewer, there are many blank spaces and other images that say the image is not available. I've tried restoring a few times and updating the paths, but nothing seems to be working.

I realized I've already lost a lot, I really hope I can save what I KNOW I BACKED UP! Any Aperture experts would greatly be appreciated. I've talked to many people and not a whole lot of headway has been. HELP!

Macbook Pro

Posted on Mar 9, 2012 5:09 PM

11 replies

Mar 9, 2012 5:51 PM in response to Mr. D90

Mr D,

I'm sorry to say that it sounds like the answer to your question is in your post, that your masters are gone forever. You say:

and stupidly the RAW files no where else. I realize now that I lost all of my RAW files

What makes you say that? I'm a bit confused by your post -- you realize that you lost all of yoru RAW files, but you are also surprised that you cannot find them after restoring the vault?