Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I use transitions in Motion 5?

Hi

I'm a beginner to Motion 5 and can't figure out how to put transitions into my projects. There seem to be no options for transitions in the library. I've worked out how to open Final Cut Pro transitions within Motion, but this starts a new project, so I can't even use these transitions for my Motion based project.

Is there a way, or is it just that Motion builds its own transitions in order to use in Final Cut Pro?

Thanks

Steve

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.8), 15" 2011 model

Posted on Mar 10, 2012 9:04 AM

2 replies

Mar 10, 2012 1:07 PM in response to okstevep

To have transitions in Motion, you need to create them yourself by changing the opacity of layers, animating masks or moving layers. Final Cut Transitions projects made in Motion are for use in Final Cut, not Motion. That said, you can learn a lot from Final Cut Transitions by looking at them in Motion and breaking them down to see how they were built, and then applying those ideas to create transitions in Motion.

Here are a few basic types of transitions to start with. Once you are comfortable with these you can start to explore and combine them to create more elaborate transitions.

Disolve: Animate the opacity for a layer or use the Fade In/Fade Out behavior.

Push: put two layers next to eachother in a group. Animate the group in the direction you want the push to happen.

Wipes:Animate the mask scale, or anchor points, to reveal or hide one layer on top of another.

Good Luck!

Mar 11, 2012 7:07 PM in response to okstevep

Ok... Apple is probably gonna "pass a brick" for this one... and they may change something to break this later (i.e., I don't think you're supposed to be able to open FCPX placeholders in a regular Motion project, which is too bad because I, for one, would love to be to add them to Generator projects!)