7 Replies Latest reply: Mar 12, 2012 1:47 PM by DJDOUGLAD
@crawford Level 1 (0 points)

I'm not sure if this is the right community but there is no Apple Store community that I can find.


I just received an email with an INVOICE link embedded in it indicating a 5,324.95 USD charge was successfully made to my credit card. I am absolutely certain this is not a valid charge, and the email does not look like the typical invoice I receive when an app or song is purchased.


I have opened the link, through my phone, and it tries to open a restaurant-piano something something page ( I can't see the entire address) but is redirected to a Microsoft.com page.


The email ends with Your Apple Store Customer Service Team. Also, there is an order number starting with a W2....


Has anyone seen this or heard about this?




Yes, I have called my bank to stop any charges.

iPhone 4, iOS 5.1
  • varjak paw Level 10 (169,827 points)

    It's almost certainly a scam, one which the host of the scammer's site may have already pulled. But call the Apple Store in your country - DO NOT provide any sort of personal information through any web link you receive in an email you aren't expecting - and confirm.



  • DJDOUGLAD Level 1 (0 points)

    I received the exact same email this morning with a different dollar amount. The site did re-direct to a Microsoft website as well.

    I contacted Apple and they did not seem overly concerned and basically said what varjak paw said. They also indicated they had received alot of calls regarding this issue today. I do have a pending charge in my account for $1.06 so I will watch that to see if anything changes. The Apple support guy said good thing it was only $1.06 and not the $3000.00 something that was in my email. I thought that was alittle flippant, but never the less, just keep an eye on your account.

  • DJDOUGLAD Level 1 (0 points)

    Update...just got another one that my American Express had been used. All the emails are me.com address.

  • Patrick Jackson Level 1 (10 points)

    I also received this email:

    I clicked on CLICK HERE on my iPhone and it took me to MicroSoft.com

    but if you hover over the link it shows:  www.postlightdrinks.com/PUoWye7f/index.html

    Here is info on that website: and looks like they have been Prohibited already.



       Registrar: GODADDY.COM, LLC

       Whois Server: whois.godaddy.com

       Referral URL: http://registrar.godaddy.com


       Name Server: NS41.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

       Name Server: NS42.DOMAINCONTROL.COM

       Status: clientDeleteProhibited

       Status: clientRenewProhibited

       Status: clientTransferProhibited

       Status: clientUpdateProhibited

       Updated Date: 25-nov-2011

       Creation Date: 17-nov-2008

       Expiration Date: 17-nov-2016



    From: Apple Store <order_acknowledgment@orders.apple.com>
    Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2012 15:11:50 -0500
    To: blank
    Subject: Thank you for your order


    Dear Customer,

    Thank you for shopping at Apple Store.

    Here is a notice that your Order Number: W268905423 has been successfully charged to your credit card for 4,545.54 USD.

    Please CLICK HERE to see your ORDER.

    Your Apple Store Customer Service Team

  • varjak paw Level 10 (169,827 points)

    It's a fake. Do not click on the link, and absolutely DO NOT provide any personal information. If you have doubts, call the Apple Store and you can confirm.



  • Carolyn Samit Level 10 (103,365 points)

    Hi ...


    I have opened the link


    Be cautious of links in the email

    One common phishing technique is to include links in an email that look like they go to a legitimate website. Upon closer inspection, the link may actually take you to a website that has nothing to do with the company the email is pretending to be from, even though the resulting website may be designed to look exactly the same.

    From here >  Identifying fraudulent "phishing" email

  • DJDOUGLAD Level 1 (0 points)

    I spoke to Apple Support again, and they suggested forwarding all these emails to : reportphishing@apple.com.


    I sent the ones I received and did get a response back from Apple :



    "Thank you for contacting Apple to report a “phishing” e-mail or suspicious website.


    Please note that, unless we need additional information, you may not receive an update from us.  However, please be assured that Apple takes its customers’ security very seriously.  We review and investigate each report of phishing or online abuse and will take immediate action to stop any fraudulent activity."


    Thank you for helping Apple to identify and stop phishing and fraud.


    Best regards,


    Apple Inc.

    Fraud Prevention Team


    Generic response, however I felt better about dumping it to them. The agent also said there is no need to change email address's.