Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Has anyone found a solution to the poor downconverting of HD video to standard def DVD?

I discovered the double-line/aliasing/interlacing problem back in 2008 when I started shooting HDV and burning it to DVD using FCP 6, Compressor and DVDSP.

At the time the web was rife with similar experiences and some time-consuming "cures" such as the Bonsai technique which usually had little beneficial effect.

Apparently there was a weakness with QuickTime and Compressor.

I recently started shooting AVCHD converted to ProRes 422 and the problem persists even when using FCP X.

So it looks as though the latest Mac apps contain the same inherent weaknesses as legacy FCP. (It was claimed that Windows apps had workarounds that produced superior results to Macs but I cannot verify that).

So has anyone come up with a reasonably quick and simple cure recently?

Preferably for FCP X but I would be happy with one for FCP 7 etc.

For anyone not aware of the problem I have just found these on a google search.

http://www.hv20.com/showthread.php?12528-HDV-to-DVD-Why-is-no-one-bothered-by-Li ne-Doubling

http://www.calgaryfcpug.com/final-output/15912-aliasing-artifacts-hdv-to-dvd.htm l

http://forums.creativecow.net/thread/8/1055919

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/1508378?start=0&tstart=0

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), FCE 4 + FCS 3 . . . Little Knowledge, Many Opinions.

Posted on Mar 16, 2012 6:20 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 16, 2012 12:29 PM

Whether this is quick or simple could be subjective.

I have found consistent success with exporting a reference or self-contained QT and then re-importing and placing the HD file in a 16x9 SD sequence and then letting FC do the down-convert(actually a Kona LHe card is doing the work). Export your SD movie and then compress for DVD in Compressor.