Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

My Mac is telling me that I have movies taking up a lot of space but I don't have any?

Hello,

This is my first time in a forum setting so I apologize if I give too much or too little.

I'm trying to free up more space on my MBP and when I go to "about this Mac" it is telling me that I have 19.22 GB of movies. The strange thing is that I don't have any movies on any of my Apple products and I've tried everything to try to remove these files.

I don't have many applications installed with the exception of Aperture (recently updated) and I no longer use iPhoto.

Any advice or tips you can provide would be great.

Processor 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

Memory 2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

Graphics NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 128 MB

Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3 (11D50d)

Thanks,

Amy

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Mar 22, 2012 4:13 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Mar 22, 2012 4:59 PM

Two things please: Post a picture (screen shot) of what you are referring to. Second, download from the Internet OmniDiskSweeper (free) and open it. This will display all of your files and their respective sizes.

Ciao.

11 replies

Mar 22, 2012 5:37 PM in response to OGELTHORPE

Thank you for the response.

Here is a snapshot of what I'm looking at.

User uploaded file

The thing that confuses me the most is that I truly don't have many programs on my MacBook Pro so I'm very confused about what is taking up so much space. I also have an external hard drive that I use with my photos.

I downloaded the program (thank you) and unfortunately it didn't provide me with any real solution.

Thanks again for your help with this.

Mar 22, 2012 6:15 PM in response to margo2pld

margo2pld wrote:

I have 19.22 GB of movies. The strange thing is that I don't have any movies

(I use SL, not Lion, so some details may be different.)

1. In Finder, invoke Spotlight with ⌘F or ⇧⌘F.