Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Hardcoding the "Aperture Hot Folder" script variables

Hello,

I use the Aperture Hot Folder script to monitor a folder on my desktop that I drop images into from my phone. I would like to have the script running all of the time, but I don't want it to ask me for any input when it runs ... I want to have the variables hard coded right into it so that I can launch it at start up and not have to think about it.

This is what it does out of the box:

1. Welcome dialog
  2. Asks for the folder to be monitored
  3. Asks for the project to import to
  4. Asks if the files should be in the Library or be referenced
  5. Lets you know that it's all set up and ready to go.

What I would like it to do is simply launch without prompting for any input or showing any dialogs other than the 'are you sure you want to quit' bit when you quit the script.

I have no scripting experience at all, but in my initial poking around I have gotten to this point easily enough:

1. Skips the welcome dialog
  2. The hot folder is predefined in the script so this dialog is now skipped
  3. Asks for the project to import to (this is the part I need help with)
  4. This is predefined as Referenced in the script so this dialog is now skipped
  5. I've removed the entire 'confirmation' section, yet it seems to come back on it's own, so I need help with that too.

Item #3 that I need help with:

tell application "Aperture"

activate

my generate_projectlist()

set this_path to (choose from list project_paths) as Unicode text

if this_path is "false" then tell me to quit

repeat with i from 1 to the count of project_paths

if this_path is (item i of the project_paths) then

set the project_ID to (item i of the project_IDs)

exit repeat

end if

end repeat

end tell