Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Time Machine stuck in preparing backup...

I've read most of the older posts and suggestions posted here, and have let it run for approximately 15 hours overnight, but it is still not progressing past the "Preparing for backup" phase.

I am on the latest version of Lion (10.7.3) and my last backup ran 18 days ago on March 7th. I am attempting to backup over an Ethernet connection to my Time Capsule, which I've been using to backup for 3 years or so. The Time Capsule is full, but this hasn't been a problem until this recent issue.

Any suggestions on how to break this free or troubleshoot for potential hardware issues would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Chris

Time Capsule 802.11n (1st Gen), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on Mar 25, 2012 7:14 AM

24 replies

Mar 25, 2012 7:26 AM in response to vtgill

For more assistance, I installed the Time Machine Buddy widget, and I get the following for the current backup that's trying to run.

Starting standard backup

Attempting to mount network destination URL: afp://Chris%20&%20Brooke%20Gillman@Lillys-Time-Capsule.local/Lilly's%20Time%20C apsule

Mounted network destination at mountpoint: /Volumes/Lilly's Time Capsule using URL: afp://Chris%20&%20Brooke%20Gillman@Lillys-Time-Capsule.local/Lilly's%20Time%20C apsule

QUICKCHECK ONLY; FILESYSTEM CLEAN

Disk image /Volumes/Lilly's Time Capsule/Chris & Brooke Gillman’s iMac.sparsebundle mounted at: /Volumes/Backup of Chris & Brooke Gillman’s iMac

Backing up to: /Volumes/Backup of Chris & Brooke Gillman’s iMac/Backups.backupdb

Error writing to backup log. NSFileHandleOperationException:*** -[NSConcreteFileHandle writeData:]: No space left on device