Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

why is iMovie so slow?

im making a short film, it working fine yesterday, when i tried to edit it this morning it froze repeatedly when trying to edit clips and taking forever to drag and move things about. I haven't added anything new since yesterday... what happened overnight?! HELP. Many thanks, Jess

Posted on Apr 4, 2012 3:27 AM

17 replies

Aug 19, 2017 3:07 PM in response to Klaus1

On Mac Operator System is different to PC operator system.

Mac OS bake whole over and over on during

Trimmings video clips is heavy load more.

PC OS is data on other drives during trimmings Mac OS does not.

That is why you need 50 GB's space free.

Sound like small GB's mean small tap of data

Large GBs mean big tap of data.

I am MAC and I still use PC for trimmings video clips.

Apr 5, 2012 7:23 AM in response to Klaus1

erm sorry im not very technical 😟

its a macbook pro, bought this year, OS X version 10.7.2 processor 2.4 Ghz 1.5 intel

398 GB free of 499

iMovie 11 version 9.4.0

movie wise, there are LOTS of video clips recorded from my camera, quick time movie clips, but it could handle it fine the night before. I closed all runnning programmes, and made sure i had enough space.

Any advice? Many thanks 🙂

Jun 8, 2012 9:12 AM in response to Jcoupe

Hey Jcoupe, did ya find a solution to your slow i movie? i ve got the same issue here with a bran new mac book pro... working on a 25 min. project... all HD ! with around 40 min. of events... did cut a lot of the unwanted event sections and it did help a lot but it stil very slow. to slow for the price and capability of this machine !!! i was working with a 600 $ toshiba of 2 years and the movie editing was faster with it... much faster... I do like my machine but have to say my come back to mac as left me cold and wet for now... please let me know if you find a remedy to the problems.

Thanks.

fredo