Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Upgrading to SSD

Hello,

I must admit that I have never used the Apple Support Communities before, but I am having quite a lot of trouble trying to find an answer to the current problem I have. I own a MacBook Pro 15'' (early 2011) with a 500 Gb HDD, which has a 70 Gb partition for running Windows 7 using Bootcamp. So far so good; however, I need to upgrade to a SSD hence I intend to clone my HDD to the new SSD. Here it's where it gets tricky, and I'm not sure if it has a relatively simple solution.

Posted on Apr 6, 2012 4:33 PM

6 replies

Apr 6, 2012 4:40 PM in response to CFD.12

That's a good machine and a fast drive, what would you want to pay a fortune for a 500GB SSD, it's not going to do much for you unless you have a external SSD and a lot of data to transfer all the time.

If you were thinking smaller SSD, then your going to run out of space a lot faster.

SSD's are over priced and overrated, they try to push them, like they try to get people to eat Tilapia, but it tastes nasty.

When the price comes down yes, until then it's a waste of money for most people as they will never use the speed of a SSD.

Like a RAID 0, you really have to have a lot of data to transfer to use it and make it worthwhile.

Buy a SSD when you buy a new machine 4 years from now, 3 years and a day if your unlucky.

https://discussions.apple.com/community/notebooks/macbook_pro?view=documents

Apr 6, 2012 5:02 PM in response to CFD.12

Hello,