Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Uninstall ical & ditch icloud

I am a newbie Mac user, so I would ask that any responses be put into 'idiot' language, thanks!

I have activated icloud and do not understand how to use it. Furthermore it has proven to be of no use and a royal pain. Can aybody tell me how to close my icloud account once and for all or simply 'opt out' as my Macbook keeps prompting me to input my Apple ID every half an hour or so as icloud cannot access data, which is irritating in the extreme!

Not only that, but recently I chose to add some appointments to Outlook and ever since then I continually get dialogues from ical coming up requiring me to dismiss reminders. This continues way past the time/date of the appointments! I am seriously disappointed with Lion OS X and the effect it has on my overall 'Mac' experience to the point that I sometimes regret having paid a small fortune for the privilege of these annoyances!

My question then, would be that since I do not need ical, icloud, can I uninstall these programs or otherwise opt out of their so called 'functionality'?

Any advice on how to get rid of this from my Mac would be gratefully received.

Thanks

Dave

<Edited By Host>

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.2), Must b run in 64 bit, as unchecked

Posted on Apr 14, 2012 2:25 PM

14 replies

Apr 14, 2012 2:34 PM in response to Kappy