Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Trouble with editable text box on master page

I'm just starting out with Pages templates. Everything is going smoothly, except this. I would like to have a text box at the top of each page for a header, and the text in the header will vary from page to page. I created a text box with some styles for header and subhead. I move it to the Master Section, and then is locked. I change things to Make Master Objects Selectable and I can edit the text, but then it changes on all pages.

I'd like my Master Objects to be locked, so that they don't get accidentally moved around, but I'd like a box to be present on all pages in which the text can be edited, without affecting the other pages with the same box. Clearly I'm doing something wrong and missing something. Could anyone help me out?

Thanks!

Posted on Apr 26, 2012 4:01 PM

11 replies

Apr 26, 2012 9:39 PM in response to Walt K

I'm using a text box. I described it as a header because it is a header to the page, not because it is a defined header in Pages parlance. If it's less confusing, maybe I should say "how can I add a text box as a master object that can contain different content on each page." As I've described, I've simply made a text box a master object and when I edit it it changes across pages.

I need this to be very flexible, so I can't solve this by adding a bunch of sections. ** this was only added in anticipation of this solution being offered by somebody in the future, as I've seen it suggested during my Googling **

Message was edited by: Imaginary

Apr 27, 2012 7:38 AM in response to Imaginary