Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can I save my movie projects to an external hard drive?

I am an elementary music teacher and often make DVDs of my students' performances. This is maxxing out my hard drive on my Mac. I have an external hard drive with a lot of memory, so my question is: can I somehow put iMovie projects onto the external hard drive, to free up memory on the Mac's hard drive? If so, how do I go about doing this? Conversely, would this be a bad idea, and if that is the case, could I move iTunes (also have a ton of music, as you can imagine) or iDVD to the external hard drive? Or iPhotos?

I'm not high-tech savvy, so need help in simple English, please.

Thanks so much!!!

iMac, Mac OS X (10.6.8), also have iMovie and iDVD

Posted on May 5, 2012 7:16 AM

3 replies

May 5, 2012 7:36 AM in response to iteachmusic

Hi

Yes - BUT there are Must's and Should's

• external Hard Disk - MUST be - Mac OS Extended (hfs) formatted - UNIX/DOS/FAT32/Mac OS Exchange works for most other things BUT NOT FOR VIDEO whatever program used iMovie or FinalCut.

• If You want to save space - You must Copy Project With Event's as Projects are very small text documents conducting/directing how Events are to be played to look like a Movie. There is no Movie in Projects

Should use a FireWire hard disk - As USB/USB2 performs badly to me especially when filling up.

Yours Bengt W

May 5, 2012 10:51 AM in response to iteachmusic