Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I install iWork '05 on an "erase and install" of OS X Tiger?

I have no experience with any Apple OS prior to Snow Leopard. My daughter has an old M6498 G4 800 mhz, 60GB machine with a grey screen. Went through the steps listed in Apple Support. Disk repair would not work, archive would not work and ended up having to do the "erase and install" with a Replacement DVD sent to us by Apple. After many updates the computer is now booting up with OS 10.4.11 and Safari 4.1.3 installed.

I have a Replacement DVD of iWork '05 sent by Apple which was previously installed on this same machine before the problem with the "grey screen" and hard drive not working. Attempting to reinstall iWork but the iWork '05 DVD does not display in Finder or Preferences. What am I overlooking?

Thanks

PowerMac, Mac OS X (10.4.11)

Posted on May 7, 2012 7:51 PM

7 replies

May 7, 2012 9:35 PM in response to franklin1000

Hello Franklin,

Does ot show up in Disk Utility?

iWork '05 system requirements

• A Mac with a 500MHz or faster PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 (G4 for PowerBook): G4 or G5 recommended
  • 128MB of RAM; 512MB recommended
  • 8MB of video memory
  • Mac OS X v10.3.6 or later
  • QuickTime 6.5 or later
  • iLife '04 or later (recommended)
  • 1GB of available disk space
  • DVD drive required to install

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3879

May 7, 2012 10:44 PM in response to BDAqua

Not quite sure what the question is (sorry I'm unfamiliar with the Apple world pre Snow Leopard and not real conversant post Snow Leopard)

Have everything in your list except iLife '04. But iWork '05 was installed (from the same Install disk I'm trying to install from now) and working prior to the 'grey screen' that prompted the 'erase and install' of the OS.

This is what Disk Utility says about the iWork '05 DVD;

Verifying volume “iWork”

Checking HFS Plus volume.

Invalid B-tree node size