5 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2012 8:59 PM by léonie
ELFritzen Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

I've been using Aperture 3 for a few years now and have collected a number of adjustment presets.  I was wondering if there is a way of finding out by looking at a any particular version which preset might have been used on that image?  It's easy to tell if adjustments have been made to any image, but not if the adjustments made were part of a preset or not.  I know I can lift and stamp any adjustments, but sometimes I'd like to know what preset was used to make a particular version.  As an example, I've recently been using VSCO Film presets with some pretty good results, and often times I'll go back to a particular image and I can't tell if the adjustments I made were part of a VSCO Film preset and which particular preset was used.  Is there a simple way of finding this out?  Does anyone else think this would be a good thing to be able to find out? 

Thanks.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.6.7)
  • Frank Caggiano Level 7 Level 7 (25,715 points)

Once  a preset is applied to an image the fact that the settings for that image came from a preset is lost. And of course once you apply a preset to an image nothing is stopping you from making further adjustments to the image making it difficult to decide just which images had which presets applied.

One possible way to track presets would be to make keywords for each of your presets, Then when you apply the preset apply the keyword. 

regards

• ELFritzen Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Thanks for the tip, Frank.  You reinforced my understanding of the presets.  I'll just have to do a better job of remembering which presets I use for a particular image, and make a note of my favorite presets.

Thanks!!

• Frank Caggiano Level 7 Level 7 (25,715 points)

It will take some discipline but keywords would be a big help in this case.

Good luck

• Kirby Krieger Level 6 Level 6 (12,470 points)