Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I can't create a new list in Reminders app

I am new to using an iPad and its bundled apps so maybe it is something I am doing wrong but I can not create a new list in the reminders app.

I have read the user guide and searched online and everything I find says the same thing: Tap "List" then tap "Edit"

I do this and nothing happens, there is no button/link to create a new list, only the Edit button reads "Done"

Is there a fault in teh app or is there something else I need to do that the dcumentation is not telling me?

I have an iPad 3 running iOS 5.1.1, I don't know the version of Reminders I am running as it is not listed in Settings.

Any assistance or pointers on this would be great as I am a bit of a list fanatic and would like to move the lists I have on my Nokia E72 onto my iPad!

iPad, iOS 5.1, Reminders not working as expected

Posted on May 10, 2012 7:16 AM

30 replies

May 10, 2012 7:43 AM in response to nu-user

That's strange. So your list doesn't look like this after you hit the Edit button? (Though on the iPad of course)

User uploaded file

Have you tried re-booting the device? Also try completely quitting the Reminders App (hit the home button to go back to the home screen, double click the home button again to bring up the multi-tasking tray, then tap and hold on the Reminders icon in that try until it starts to wiggle, then tap the red minus in the upper left corner of that app, then it is completely quit)

May 10, 2012 7:43 AM in response to nu-user

Try resetting your iPad: Simultaneously hold the Home and On buttons until it shuts off. This should take about ten seconds or so. Ignore the off slider should it appear. After shut down is complete, use the On button to restart it.

If that doesn't help, post back. I don't see any settings associated with the list apps, but will poke around a little more. It's not something I use often.