Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Can't update my iMac to 10.7.4, every method says file is corrupt.

I am somewhat new to Mac but I haven't had to post on this forum yet so I will try to be as clear about the issue as I can be.

I have an iMac (21.5 inch Mid 2011) and I am running 10.7.3 right now.

Software update informed there was an update available to Lion (10.7.4) so I tried to let it do it's thing and update it for me. The update downloads, then informs me that it has to restart to complete the installation. The progress bar after the restart shows it is working, and at the "Cleaning Up" stage, I am prompted with this message and only have the option to "Restart": The update "Mac OS X Update" can't be installed. The update could not be expanded, and may have been corrupted during downloading. The update will be downloaded and checked again the next time that Software Update runs.

I tried that method about 5 times, and kept getting the same thing. I read that I should try to download the .dmg files directly from Apple's site which I did. I downloaded the Combo client version and just the regular client version but when I try to open both .dmg files, I get "invalid checksum".

I did a disk utlity scan which came back to say that things were OK.

What can I do?

iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on May 10, 2012 12:43 PM

14 replies

May 10, 2012 3:34 PM in response to Mr.GAMA

To add to the confusion, I tried to update to iOS 5.1.1 through iTunes as well, and THAT file was corrupted. I managed to update my iPhone OTA since I already had iOS 5.1, so that is fine now, but that really is just a work around.

I decided to tether my internet from my iPhone to my iMac to try that, and skip my Eastlink router, to isolate the problem. Doing so actually allowed me to download the 10.7.4 update and install it successfully.