Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do you get a word count in a Pages doc?

Hi all. This is my first time here. I've been using Pages for a long time and love it. Just now I am doing some writing and would like to know my word count, but do not see how to do that. Is this not possible in Pages?

Thanks for any help.

Joan

iMac (20-inch Early 2008), Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on May 11, 2012 9:38 PM

9 replies

May 11, 2012 11:07 PM in response to Joan Peck

Hi Joan,

A 'live' word count of the entire document is reported at the bottom left of the document window.

User uploaded file

Here 125% is the magnification at which the screen image of a page is being presented, 1 is the number of 'words' that is selected, 4,007 is the total word count for the document, 6-9 are the pages (partially) visible on the screen, and 27 is the total page count for the document.

You can also obtain a word count via the Edit menu:

User uploaded file

Other options in this sub-menu are greyed as nothing was selected at the time.

Regards,

Barry

May 12, 2012 7:43 PM in response to Barry

Hi Barry - thanks for the reply. I do not see the same information you see when I look at the lower left of my page. I see the size of page with arrows next to increase or decrease magnification, then the page number of total pages. I am using version 3.03. When I try the feature Show Statistics under Edit, I do not get anything. How did you grab those screen shots and insert them? Awesome.

Joan

May 12, 2012 10:55 PM in response to Joan Peck

Hi Joan,

The 'live' word count was apparently added with Pages '09.