Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I keep getting the error message 'STARTUP DISK IS FULL' my comp is only 5 months old. what do I do?

Can anyone help, I keep getting the startupdisk is full message. My comp is only 5 months old, I dont know why it has happened, nor do I know what to do with it? I have tried following some of the threads, but I dont understand the solutions, could somebody help me using basic idiot language please? I am so frustrated, as I am new to Mac. Thanks

MacBook Pro

Posted on May 13, 2012 2:31 AM

5 replies

May 13, 2012 2:54 AM in response to pippafrompembrokeshire

Hello:

That message appears when the hard drive is nearing capacity. That sometimes happens if someone has downloaded large amounts of information. If you have been downloading information, go to the area it is stored and start to delete things you no longer need. DO NOT delete any system files.

As a rough rule of thumb, your internal HD should have 10-15% free space at all times.

If you are near an Apple store, make an appointment at the genius bar (take your computer with you). They can walk you through the process.

Barry

May 13, 2012 3:22 AM in response to pippafrompembrokeshire

pippafrompembrokeshire wrote:

Can anyone help, I keep getting the startupdisk is full message. My comp is only 5 months old, I dont know why it has happened, nor do I know what to do with it? I have tried following some of the threads, but I dont understand the solutions, could somebody help me using basic idiot language please? I am so frustrated, as I am new to Mac. Thanks

Download OmniDiskSweeper from here for free

http://omnidisksweeper.en.softonic.com/mac

That will show you where all your large files are, usually Music, Movies and Photos.

Good Luck

Pete

May 13, 2012 3:39 AM in response to petermac87

Please do not recommend OmniDiskSweeper without the appropriate caution.