Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

What camera is best for final cut pro x?

I am looking into purchasing a canon t3i or a 60d for shooting digital shorts or YouTube videos. I am new to this entire thing and will be purchasing final cut when I get the camera. I am on a cheap budget trying to spend over 1K on the camera. I was thinking the 60d but I am told it doesn't really matter the camera it's the editing that makes it look great. I am also looking for advice on what I need as a basic film making kit, like green screen. I am in the military so I can't really go to school to learn so I figure I will learn by doing it. But any advice would be much appreciated.

iMac (27-inch Mid 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on May 13, 2012 5:43 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 13, 2012 10:02 PM

fore-word: 'Quality' is in the eye of the beholder.

ask people what a good movie is .... 😉

I am told it doesn't really matter the camera it's the editing that makes it look great.

stay away from the person giving such advice. nonsense.

step #1 for quality:

have an idea. what is your movie about? what kind of 'flavour', documentary, story telling, impressions?

step #2 for quality:

cinematography. movie making is based upon photography, photography is based how you handle light. for instance, using a 60d (excellent cam) with a cheap-no-name, slow glas is of no use. why using a big sensor ("hey, DoF is so pro!") with a 5.6-stop - useless.

step #3 for quality:

learn to handle your tools. your cam, your lights, your software.

--------------------

basic film maker set:

most film-makers never need a green-screen.

it's just tools, it's not the toys which make the film, it's your brain.

you can not get basic advice here in a forum ... it's a life-long process.

start simple&short.

my first step would be to make up my mind, what movies I like to do.

rule of thumb: