Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Flash Player not working, help i am not a geek or techie.....!!

I have a MAC OSX 10.5.8, after the recent software update my flash player no longer works.

I have tried to download the most recent version which i cannot, i have tried to download Google Chrome which i cannot also download. It was suggested that i de-install the flash player & i would then be able to upload the latest version, this hasn;t worked.

So i am now left with nothing, i cannot watch BBC IPlayer of any videos which i frankly useless & not why i bought an Apple MAC.

I am no expert so in simple language does anyone have any tips or suggestions as to how i can get around this issue, should i update my software to Lion?

Many thanks

Neil

iMac, Mac OS X (10.5.8)

Posted on May 19, 2012 11:42 PM

8 replies

May 20, 2012 7:37 AM in response to neil1972

If you're on 10.5.8 and you applied the latest security update, it would have moved the Flash player plugin to disabled plugins. If it's there, you can just drag it back out into the main area of plugins. Be careful where you use Flash. That version of Flash was disabled because it wasn't secure; there are no "secure" versions of Flash for 10.5.

Depending on the version of Safari, get ClickToPlugin, or ClickToFlash, which will set a placeholder for Flash content. You only click on it when you are visiting a site you know absolutely to be trusted. I suppose BBC would fall into that category.

Look in /Library/Internet Plugins. That's the second level Library, not the Library in your home folder and not /System/Library.

May 20, 2012 8:29 AM in response to neil1972

Chrome isn't going to work as it's auto-updates Flash and there is no Flash version for 10.5

Safari now disables older versions of Flash