Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Setting Up Server For First Time?

Hi,

Two days ago I bought Lion Server, having no experience with server software at all. I have two main goals with Lion Server, but I have no experience on how to set up my server. First of all I would like to create a file sharing service between my three computers: two MacBook Pros and a Sony Viao. I want to be able to access each computer's documents and transfer them through the server locally. Secondly I would like to set up a website that I can access files from on the go--not from my home network, if for example, I am at Starbucks 🙂. I don't know if this would require additional investment in a VeriSign Certificate. I run a small property management business with four employees, but I use all three computers, so I will have complete controll over them. The three computers can have equal access to the server. I do not have any iOS devices (such as an iPad) that need access to the server.

I want to keep the server simple and easy to use, nothing fancy here. If someone could walk me through every step, I would be very very happy.

Finally I would like to admit that "I" don't actually run the business. My dad does. I'm 16 and he wants me to step up the server for him, but OS X Lion Server is one Apple software piece I don't have experience with.

Thank You Very Much for all advice you can give me, because trust me, I wouldn't want to tell him he bought $50 software for nothing!

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.3)

Posted on May 20, 2012 3:17 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 20, 2012 3:52 PM

For a quick and dirty description, check this out. http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-configure-lion-server.html