Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

xCode freeze at startup ... White window says "No Editor"

Hello,
sorry for my bad english. I have installed xCode 5 days ago, and i'm new with Apple Computers. When i installed it for the first time, it ask me if i want create a new project or load some other. I have choosen to load other project that i have previously downloaded ... I have choosen my disk as project path.

Since the firts launch, xCode crash at the startup. When i launch it, appear only the xCode bar and a blank window says"No Editor". When i move my arrow on the bar, appears the loading raimbow icon ... I have tried to uninstall the app, with the trash and with the sudo command. (I have also tried with AppCleaner to delete all the xCode files). I have tried to reinstall xCode many times with no luck (manually and with AppleStore).

Every time i have the same problem.
How can i solve it? How can i make a clean install of xCode?
(Because when i reinstall it, it doesn't ask me the first launch window with the open project ask).

I have no activated TimeMachine, so i can't restore my system to a previously status.

Can anyone help me please?

iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on May 21, 2012 10:33 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on May 21, 2012 1:56 PM

(Because when i reinstall it, it doesn't ask me the first launch window with the open project ask)

Read the following to learn how to restore the welcome window:

Xcode 4: Opening the Welcome Window

Your problems with Xcode may be related to the project you downloaded rather than Xcode itself. Try creating a new project by choosing File > New > Project. If you can create a new project without Xcode crashing, the project you downloaded is probably the problem. If Xcode crashes when creating a new project, there probably is a problem with your Xcode installation.