Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Invisible / Transparent Dock Icons

I have been using mac's for some 4 years now and today every thing has just worked... however a few days ago I noticed the Safari @ spring icons in the right hand side of the dock had become invisible on my MacBook Pro, MacBook Air, however our iMac was working ok. I looked up the problem on the net and found it was the url.png icon file would be missing from the Dock resource folder. Simple I though just copy it from my iMac and away we go. No such luck no such file could be found, so the challenge started, some hours later everything was fixed.

Anyone else with the problem - heres how to fix it:-

The required icon file is stored under a different name, called GenericURLIcon.icns to find this go to:-

/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle (right click and open contents to get resources)

/System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources (look for file GenericURLIcon.icns and copy to desktop)

Rename GenericURLIcon.icns on desktop to url.png

Now copy the new file to the Dock Resources, go to:-

/System/Library/CoreServices/Dock.app (right click and open contents to get resources)

/System/Library/CoreServices/Dock.app/Contents/Resources/ (drag and drop new url.png file to Resources folder)

Finally either reboot or restart the Dock by opening a Terminal Window (type Terminal in spotlight to find)

In Terminal Window type (case sensitive):-

killall Dock

The Dock will restart and away you go.

Have Fun

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on May 22, 2012 11:37 AM

13 replies

Jun 5, 2017 4:49 AM in response to psLogic