Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Memory leaks in Lion?

I have a 2008 21-inch iMac, and a 2010 MacBook Pro, both with 4 GB RAM, running OS X Lion 10.7.3. Ever since I installed Lion, I've had this problem of available memory dwindling to almost nothing (10-20 MB) after a day or so of usage. Last night I went to bed and the MacBook Pro had 400 MB available (according to Activity Monitor) and when I woke up this morning it was nearly frozen with only 10 MB available.

I'm not an extreme techie but I've been working in the IT world for over 30 years, including 3 years with Apple, and in my experience this situation is called a Memory Leak. If it were just one of my systems I would suspect something local, but they both behave the same way. (My partner's machine does the same thing.) I've installed the 3rd-party app Memory Freer, which frees up 6-800 GB each time I run it. But as time goes on the memory fills back up again more quickly, and finally I have to reboot.

Checking Activity Monitor, it's not just one app that takes up memory - they all seem to grow over time. (Mail, iPhoto, iTunes, Word, Chrome, etc.) Chrome seems to be the worst offender, with a plethora of Worker and Renderer processes grabbing 10-80 MBs for each open window - and I often leave 10-15 open at any given time. But all apps' memory usage grows over time, even if I haven't accessed them - witness last night's spontaneous bloat on my MacBook.

I've read a couple of other threads on Memory Leaks, but most point to a single app or just suggest Memory Freer. Does Apple know it's got a major league problem here? Are they doing anything about it?