Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

MacBook Pro sale ends tomorrow...

I'm new to the Mac world but have finally decided to dive in with a new 17" MacBook Pro. Best Buy is offering ~$200 off list but only with 4MB RAM. Can I bump this up to 8MB after my purchase? And if so, will I pay a premium for buying the additional memory after the fact (ie, more than I'd pay if I bought the MacBook originally configured with 8MB)? Do I have to go to Apple for intillation and would there be a fee? Also, are there any advantages to buying directly from Apple as opposed to a 3rd party? The sale ends tomorrow (6/2/12) so quick responses would be greatly appeciated.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jun 1, 2012 7:21 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 1, 2012 7:28 PM

macsales.com or crucual.com is a good source for quality RAM. 8 GB will run you $50.

Installation is easy (you will get a booklet with pictures to show you how). Even *I* was able to do it without breaking anything.

Buy the MBP of your choice and get the basic 4 GB RAM while on sale.

Even better news is that 16 GB RAM, which used to be $900+ is now as inexpensive as $170. Soon (I hope) it will be only $100-ish, which is only 2x as expensive as 8 GB.

7 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jun 1, 2012 7:28 PM in response to gregoryfromsierravista

macsales.com or crucual.com is a good source for quality RAM. 8 GB will run you $50.

Installation is easy (you will get a booklet with pictures to show you how). Even *I* was able to do it without breaking anything.

Buy the MBP of your choice and get the basic 4 GB RAM while on sale.

Even better news is that 16 GB RAM, which used to be $900+ is now as inexpensive as $170. Soon (I hope) it will be only $100-ish, which is only 2x as expensive as 8 GB.

Jun 1, 2012 7:29 PM in response to gregoryfromsierravista