Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How can I stream iTunes from my NAS to my iPad without having iTunes running on my PC?

I am a total iOS newbie. I have my iTunes library on a network server. How can I point the iPad at the server so I can stream the music without having iTunes running on a PC? Am I missing a setting on iTunes or the iPad? Is there a separate app for this? It's easy to do this sort of thing in the PC & Android world, but Apple has me stumped. Thanks in advance for any help.

iPad (3rd gen) Wi-Fi, iOS 5.1.1

Posted on Jun 7, 2012 2:33 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 9, 2012 3:09 AM

Hi Locke99,

For streaming content 'the Apple way' to your iOS device:

- you cannot do w.o. a mac/pc running iTunes application unless your server can also run same iTunes app as streaming server. This depends on the options within OS of server and if iTunes application is available for this OS.

- server is recognized by iOS device this way

- content is compliant with very limited 'Apple only' fileformats via iTunes.

Since iPhone/iPad devices itself are 'only' powerful enough to operate as a streaming server for non HD movie content or less, other options would be:

- install Plex or AirVideo on your server/nas if these 'server' apps are available for this device (e.g. synology and qnap support Plex server plugin). Then install their clients via the App store on your iOS device, connect them... and stream!

- install XBMC streaming server app on a 'free' ATV1/2, connect it to server/nas... and stream

- use App store apps like 8player, AVPlayerHD, MediaConnect, etc on your iOS device to stream anything less then HD content from your DLNA enabled server/nas