When you sync, it won't delete anything. The photos that are only in iPhoto will be synced into your iPhone and the photos that are in your iPhone will be added to iPhoto library, but do this before sync:
1. Connect your iPhone and open iPhoto.
2. Select your device, and import all the photos that are only in it