Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Few Questions about iPhoto to Aperture Switch

I have been using iPhoto every since I got a mac. I store all my photos (I am an amateur photographer so I have a lot) in iPhoto and I have iPhoto synced with my iPhone over iCloud.

iPhoto is great, but I have been dying to get to Aperture cause of its vastly greater capabilites.

Here is my dilemna. I want to use Aperture, but not if when I move my iPhoto library over to Aperture any changes I make to the photos in Aperture won't be automatically seen in those photos in iPhoto.

And here is the bigger issue. If I do switch over, that will take up so much MORE space on my harddrive. Is it possible to work out of Aperture and have the files be saved automatically in iPhoto so I don't have all these duplicate files taking up twice the ammount of space that is necessary.

Lastly, and this is more of a iPhoto question, but if I have a Macbook Pro and an iMac, how do I get the two libraries to be identical. Right now I have to manually upload the same photos or do it over the Airdrop because they are right next to each other. They are both on the iCloud together, but if I were to make a change to a photo on the laptop, how do I get it to be already there on the iMac.

I appreciate any help in these matters, and I thank you ahead of time.

Yours truly,

Brendan

Aperture 3, Mac OS X (10.7)

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 11:51 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 12:24 PM

Upgrade to iPhoto 9.3, and then Aperture 3.3 will use the _exact_ same library. The libraries are unified as of the releases from yesterday, so there is no need to "switch" at all. You can use Aperture, or use iPhoto, or use both, as the changes and everything carries over from both programs.

Your concerns, as of yesterday, have become a total non-issue ;-)

33 replies
Question marked as Best reply