Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Retina MacBook Pro

Dear all,

I currently have a mid-2007 MacBook and while it's done well for a good 5 years, it is dying. I'm a student, and with the advent of the new retina MacBook pros, I've been saving to get one. I clearly don't upgrade my computer every 2-3 years as many do, so I'm looking for something that will last me a very long time. I'm not too much into spending money every few years. Also, I'm eligible for the student discount which apparently comes with a $100 card to use in the Mac app store and such. Here's what I'm looking at getting-

MacBook Pro:

15-inch: 2.6 GHz Retina display

As far as upgrades go, do you recommend paying for the processor upgrade from 2.6GHz to 2.7GHz? I'm planning on keeping this for a very long time, so I'm unsure. It's expensive to upgrade only 0.1GHz, but in the long run do you think this will be something that will pay off?

What about memory? I'm going to be using this computer fairly lightly for the next year, but towards my Junior and Senior years in college (and future), things should be getting pretty application intensive.

I don't care too much about storage. I can always add an external, so 512 seems to be more than enough for me.

Thanks for your time.

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 1:18 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 12, 2012 1:22 PM

I would spend the money for the 16 GBs of RAM rather than the processor.

5 replies

Jun 12, 2012 2:22 PM in response to SOJHA