Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Final Cut 7 and Compressor - HD to SD title problem

Hello,

It's my first time here, but I'm using professionally Final Cut Studio for a few years now.

I was finishing a project and my working sequence was XDCam HD 1920x1080, but it's for TV and I needed to put the final on SD DVCam tapes. So I decided not to render a nested sequence, but to export it first to DV Pal (making a DVD later would be faster, etc.). I sent a sequence to Compressor and chose DV PAL Anamorphic. Everything went fine, except I had some subtitles in the project for what I used Final Cut Text and these turn out very bad.

This is how it should have looked:

User uploaded file

This is how it turned out:

User uploaded file

Why did Final Cut interpret titles like this and what to do in the future to avoid this?

Thanks!

Final Cut Pro 7, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jun 15, 2012 2:55 AM

5 replies

Jun 15, 2012 7:42 AM in response to vuk-wolf

Final Cut did not interpret the titles incorrectly.

You are exporting HD 1920x1080 video which is square pixels and then asking Compressor to make it rectangular pixels for PAL SD 720x576(whether it is 16x9 or 4x3). The HD to SD conversion is causing the distortion of the titles. This should help explain it better

http://library.creativecow.net/articles/gerard_rick/pixel_madness.php

I would try adding the titles after it has been converted to PAL SD. I prefer Natress(a plugin for FC around $100/70 Euros) over Compressor for PAL to SD conversion.

If you can't buy Nattress here is one approach:

*Export without titles and convert to PAL in Compressor
*reimport into PAL 16x9 SD sequence