9 Replies Latest reply: Jun 19, 2012 7:47 AM by red_menace
Drake69 Level 1 Level 1 (0 points)

Hello,

When you set your volume harder (on a mac), there displays a nice, litte, a bit transparant, pop-up.

Is there a way to create such a pop-up?

I try to do it with applescript (inside xcode).

Xcode itself has also a pop-up like that, if you try to run your app, it display a pop-up

"Built succeeded", (or a hated pop-up "Built failed").

Kind regards,

Isaiah

P.S. I'm a noob in Xcode, so is there a way I just add a button, and connect it (with control-click, and drag) to for example "File owner", and then click "Pop-up effect"?

Xcode, Mac OS X (10.7.4)
  • red_menace Level 6 Level 6 (14,855 points)

The ones you are talking about most likely use a custom view over a transparent background, with some custom objects and animations thrown in there for good measure.  Since you are a noob and all , there is a little bit easier way to make a simple dialog that avoids having to create the rounded corner background and code the animations and all.

In your AppDelegate or controller script, add an outlet for the alert window:

property alertWindow : missing value

Add an action handler for the button:

on showAlert_(sender)

-- add additional setups or animations as desired

alertWindow's orderFront_(me)

performSelector_withObject_afterDelay_("hideAlert", me, 5) -- close after delay

end showAlert_

And add another handler to hide the window:

on hideAlert()

alertWindow's orderOut_(me)

end hideAlert

In the Interface Editor, create another window for your dialog (I use a regular window, since the panels are a bit too dark) and connect the window (not the view) to your alert outlet using the Connections Inspector or equivalent shortcut.  Uncheck the "Visible at Launch" option, and make the window animation "Inspector Panel Style" to slow down the (dis)appear time a bit.