Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to create an 'Apple sound popup' in Xcode?

Hello,

When you set your volume harder (on a mac), there displays a nice, litte, a bit transparant, pop-up.

Is there a way to create such a pop-up?

I try to do it with applescript (inside xcode).

Xcode itself has also a pop-up like that, if you try to run your app, it display a pop-up

"Built succeeded", (or a hated pop-up "Built failed").

Kind regards,

Isaiah

P.S. I'm a noob in Xcode, so is there a way I just add a button, and connect it (with control-click, and drag) to for example "File owner", and then click "Pop-up effect"?

Xcode-OTHER, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jun 16, 2012 7:27 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 16, 2012 1:58 PM

The ones you are talking about most likely use a custom view over a transparent background, with some custom objects and animations thrown in there for good measure. Since you are a noob and all 😉, there is a little bit easier way to make a simple dialog that avoids having to create the rounded corner background and code the animations and all.

In your AppDelegate or controller script, add an outlet for the alert window:

property alertWindow : missing value

Add an action handler for the button:

on showAlert_(sender)

-- add additional setups or animations as desired

alertWindow's orderFront_(me)

performSelector_withObject_afterDelay_("hideAlert", me, 5) -- close after delay

end showAlert_

And add another handler to hide the window:

on hideAlert()

alertWindow's orderOut_(me)

end hideAlert