Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

motion 5: movements stutter

Hi, I have recently bought motion 5 to design some movements of text and graphics. I'm a beginner so bear with me if it's a stupid question.

I have made some sequences in which text moves into the screen and after a while out - for film title and credits - quite easy. On screen, the text (or a little line drawing) jumps a little during movement. The same happens if I export the project as a little film. I have tried modifying the following options:

MacBook pro 15" (Version 8.2 early 2011)/8 GB RAM vs. MacBook Air 13" (Version 4.2 from 2011): no difference (the slow HD on the MBP 15" is not the reason)

Lion 10.7.4 on both computers

Motion project: 25, 30 and 50 fps, all in Broadcast HD - no difference

I tried behaviours/Basic motion/move and key frames - no difference

I tried various exporting formats - no difference

I'm running out on ideas and I could not google anything that would help me.

Please help. Thanks a lot

Peter

Posted on Jun 17, 2012 1:32 AM

13 replies

Jun 17, 2012 2:26 AM in response to PeterPz

there are diff. reasons which can cause stutter on playback ...

• don't overwhelm your computer - if it's fullHD/1080/60p/proRes is lots of data ...

judge the smoothness eg in a 720/30p/h264 playout ....

check your hardware's set-up concerning 'speed'.... eg, people overestimate speed of wireless connections or tiny 2.5" HDDs

* the socalled angle-speed of objects: if btw two frames of your project the difference is too big to allow your eyes to 'smear' the two frames into a smooth movement, your brain notice a fast slide-show , no movie

use a higher frame rate = which is in most cases not allowed to stay within standards such as 24/25/30 fps

or

apply motion-blurr to your project.

Jul 29, 2012 7:06 AM in response to Karsten Schlüter