Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

clamshell iBook not booting

I have a clamshell iBook, M2453 family. I was updating the OS from 9.1 to 9.2.1 when the machine froze during the install. Now the machine will not boot up. I get the flashing apple face and question mark.

Any ideas on how to get this working again? I'm a total noob with apple - this laptop was given to me and I've been having fun with it until now...

Before this, I was having problems getting the Aircard connected - my router is 128bit encryption - I would get the 'incorrect password' error.

Thank you for any help you can give!

iBook, Mac OS 9.1.x

Posted on Jun 18, 2012 12:11 PM

5 replies

Jun 18, 2012 7:58 PM in response to TheRealAnubis

A quick update. I borrowed an OS9 disk and got booted up. It won't let me complete the 9.2.1 update (that I was originally trying to do when it crashed) because it shows that there is no OS installed, but when I try to install OS9, it says that it won't go over top of the OS already installed and wants a clean install.

Again, any help would be appreciated!

Jun 20, 2012 5:17 AM in response to TheRealAnubis

If your iBook has the original 3GB or 6GB HD installed (which is 12 years old by now) bad sectors might be the problem.

You first have to initialize your HD after booting up from CD

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=50447

Open the Functions menu and choose Initialization Options. Click the "Low level format"; and "Zero all data";

Then try to re-install OS 9.1 again

I once had an iBook with bad sectors located in the first GB of the HD. I overrided this sectors by partitioning the HD into 2 partitions and install the OS in the second partion.

Jun 20, 2012 1:15 PM in response to bund

Hi,

Thank you for the information! I will use this as a last resort, since there were a lot of programs installed on this machine.

Here's where I'm at so far: