Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Converting and compressing mp4 video for iBook Author

I'm working on an iBook on Propaganda in WW II and would like to include loads of videos.

The Internet Archive has a great collection:

Example: "Out of the Frying Pan Into the Firing Line (1942)"

http://archive.org/details/OutOfTheFryingPanIntoTheFiringLine

Most are in mp4 format. I have tried bringing the mp4 into QT or iMovie and both seem to do about the same job of converting. Plus they increase file size by about 50%

Primary question

I'm targeting my iBook as a free resource for schools. File size is an issue for school iPads that might be 16 GB. Is there anyway to reduce file size, without losing quality? I saw some discussions about Compressor, but that seems to be designed for Final Cut Pro and I'm not a video expert.

Secondary question:

Is there any way to improve the quality of these old videos. Perhaps there are some settings I'm missing in QT or iMovie??

I'm an instructional design guy - not a video guy. Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated ... especially in laymen's terms.

Thanks

MacBook Air, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jun 20, 2012 10:03 PM

10 replies

Jun 21, 2012 4:54 AM in response to edteck

I had a look at that video. It's 480x360, with a bit rate of 560 kB/sec.

You can use Handbrake (free) to transcode the video to any bit rate you like. Use the iPad preset, change from the default "Constant quality" setting to "Average bit rate", select "2-pass encoding" and "Turbo first pass". Set the bit rate to 500 kB/sec, and you'll get a video very much the same size as the original. (Allow the anamorphic encoding with rounding, so you get a 480x352 video output.)