Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I moved itunes to a new computer. had music but no playlists,

I have a new computer and moved my music to a external drive then onto my new computer, now all my playlists are gone, soooo I started rebuilding my playlists, I didnt do it all in one day, but now all the music has the exclmation mark and wont play at all.

I am not very good with the computer so I am lost when it is seaching for my songs, because it cant find them. when it searches it goes to my desktop, looking fo a file name.

I dont know how to fix this. How do I get backto what was on the old computer?

As I am not a computer person this is a frustration becaue I dont know one file from another.

I purchased a lot of songs from itunes and would like to have thm back rather than start all over and repurchase the song that i paid for.

Can anyone help ? I also want to be able to sync my ipod, like before, I'm concerned about losing what is on the ipod .

Thank you

iPod nano (6th generation), Windows 7

Posted on Jun 24, 2012 10:18 PM

6 replies

Jun 25, 2012 3:46 AM in response to dave132

Eching the comment above I suspect you only copied the media folder, instead of copying the main iTunes folder. Playlists, ratings, play counts etc. are all stored in the iTunes Library.itl file that is the core of your library. Migrate the whole library properly and everything ends up on the new system. This is my suggested process.

1. Backup the library with this User Tip.
  2. Restore the backup to your new computer using the same tool used to back it up.
  3. Deauthorize the old computer if you no longer want to access protected content on it.
  4. Keep your backup up-to-date in future.

tt2

Jun 25, 2012 9:15 PM in response to turingtest2