Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

libraries work flow managed referenced

I'm a photographer and reaching a library that is pushing 1T. I don't see a performance isue as much as the backups I run are painful - even the vaults. I back on two other network drives as well, so I could be out of commision for a day.

What are the pros doing out there ? Are you using referenced or masters ? Do you keep one big library or smaller contextual libs and why ? Are there any really good tutorials on heavy workflow? I have decided to use three different managed libraries, one for Archival, Current, and Professional. I can then run Vaults on all three seperatly on an external drive.

I am curious about other folks experience and the workflows they've settled on //

JJ

iMac, Mac OS X (10.7.4), 32 GB DDR3, Triple TB Display

Posted on Jun 26, 2012 12:13 PM

6 replies

Jun 26, 2012 12:35 PM in response to wombat2007

Ours is a split library, current jobs are managed, old jobs and personal work are referenced. A new library is done for each year.

The referenced files are backed up hourly to an external using ChronoSync. The external also has our vaults on. The external is regularly swapped for one offsite.

The whole lot is also backed up using time machine.

Jun 26, 2012 3:45 PM in response to wombat2007

IMO

• Multiple Libraries are self-defeating to the concept of an images database because they prevent global searches like keyword searches. Only for very specific and unusual reasons (like specific-client security of some kind) should there be more than one Library. Creating multiple Libraries for organizational or drive space purposes is misguided thinking.

• Large Managed Libraries are a bad idea for the reasons you are experiencing. They can be done well, but only by true mass storage experts with sophsticated large-drives setups.