Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

I have a mess

Ok, I found an Imac G3 Bondi blue revision b, I love this computer from my childhood and want to get it working. A couple of problems have arisen: First, the HD is trashed, totally worthless, second, I do not know what firmware it is running to start over in the installation of an os, and third, from inspection of the entire internals of the computer I have located an EMPTY slot for the ram. My questions, should you choose to take on this mission: What OS do I have to start with for installation? I have found that you have to start before x, so do I start with 9.2, or sooner? Does it have some sort of on-board RAM, if not what size do I have to look for to make it worth doing? And if this is all futile, is there a way of installing Ubuntu? (if you don't mind me asking.)

Sorry that I have so many questions in 2012 about a computer from 1998, but this is my first time tinkering with any MAC and I really want to get it going with Mac OS 10.2 if possible. (and no, I do not have the original discs, just the computer, keyboard, mouse, and some new 10.2 that did not come with it, these were a later find.)

I appreciate any help anyone can give, thanks.

iMac

Posted on Jun 29, 2012 8:39 AM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jun 29, 2012 11:19 AM

I "bought" an iMac g3 Rev A for may parents. I upgraded it to a Rev D eventually with a new logic board.

Note a-d iMacs had problems with a bad fly-back capacitor. Leads to video failure.

You can run 10.3 as the max officaial OS. 10.4 if you happend to have 10.4 on a harddrive or use expost facto. Good to update firmware, but I do not beleive it is required. (Slot loaders required correct firmware for 10.2)

Open Firmware, boot into Open Firmware.

Power on your iMac while holding down command+option+o+f

The first output line contains the firmware level. Mine reads: