Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

New macbook pro 2012 preinstalled with lion can't be reinstalled?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to mac os x and I just bought a new macbook pro 13" four days ago which came preinstalled with mac os x lion. I tried to do a clean install on the third day to experience doing it myself for the first time. here's what I did:

1st try

@DU I perform erase Macintosh HD, set the partition table to GUID, partitioned the drive,

exit DU and then selected reinstall mac os x from the mac os x utilities,

I just clicked continue, continue, then it did some eligibility checking and verification.

after a while the dialog window showed this message " This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer."

there's no other option below than quit.

2nd try

restarted macbook then pressed down option+command+r

the globe logo came out. I connected to my home wifi and a progress bar indicator came out. after the progress bar completed, the Mac os x utilities came out.

I selected reinstall mac os x from the mac ox x util. I clicked on continue, continue.. an eligibility and verification followed and after a while I got the same message saying "This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer."

3rd try

I restarted macbook again and pressed down option+command+r

I did the steps from the 1st try again but I still get the same message "This version of Mac OS X 10.7 cannot be installed on this computer."

Can anyone help me out on how to reinstall Lion? or did I missed out anything? or should I send this macbook for repair? or just return it?

appreciate any advice...thanks.

MacBook Pro, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jun 29, 2012 5:36 PM

4 replies

Jun 29, 2012 6:15 PM in response to user_Kent