Want to highlight a helpful answer? Upvote!

Did someone help you, or did an answer or User Tip resolve your issue? Upvote by selecting the upvote arrow. Your feedback helps others! Learn more about when to upvote >

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How to change screen resolution for games in mac OS X 10.3.9

Hi,

I'm new to apple, so this may be an easy one (I hope).

I have an iBook clamshell with os X 10.3.9 running. I want to play some older games, like Diablo 1, squirrel kombat, etc.

What I can't find out anywhere is how to change the resolution for games. I know for older games (at least on PC) that there was a file that stored your settings, like sound card, resolution, etc.

I can't find anything like that here. Diablo 1 says that it needs to have a minimum of 640 X 480. I want to set it at 800 X 600.

How do I do this?

Thanks for your help!

Update, it looks like Diablo is running in classic mode (I thought it would run in OS X) anyway, the question is still the same! Thanks!

iBook, Mac OS X (10.3.x), 300 Mhz, 160MB RAM

Posted on Jul 1, 2012 7:29 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 2, 2012 12:48 AM

The overall screen resolution setting in Mac OS X is in System Preferences. You can select it from the Apple menu. Then, go to the Displays pane. You should see a list of available resolution settings, on the Display tab.

NOTE: Games will often take over the screen, and change screen resolution to whatever is optimal for game performance. In that case, there may be a resolution setting in the game's preferences. In some games, you hold a key at startup (such as Option), to set the desired screen resolution for the game.

11 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 2, 2012 12:48 AM in response to TheRealAnubis