Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

"Cost" isn't a valid reference ...

I'm new to Numbers - lifelong Excel user/developer.

I'm trying to do something which I beleive should be extremely simple. I have two spreadsheets, one called "Expenses" and one called "Summary." Revenues has three tables.

In the "Summary" spreadsheet, I'm in a table and I'm trying to multiply a cell from the "Fixed Costs" table in "Expenses" by 12 to get the annual fixed costs.

When I type "=" and then use my mouse to select any cell in the "Fixed Costs" table in the "Expenses" spreadsheet, it fails to return a valid reference.

Instead of a valid reference, it just the text "Y1 Cost" ... which generates the error in the subject of this discussion. (See graphic).

User uploaded file

User uploaded file

All of the other tables in "Expenses" return proper cell references (see below).

User uploaded file

I've verified that the cell in question is numeric (its a formula itself).

I've deleted the table and re-created it.

User uploaded file

If I try to create a sum (=sum( ... .and then select B2:B3)... it works. But selecting a single cell does not.

Its making me a bit crazy.

I can work around it ... but I'd sure appreciate understanding why its behaving this way, so I can avoid it in the future.

MacBook Pro, iPhone 4GB, Mac OS X (10.4.10)

Posted on Jul 2, 2012 7:44 PM

10 replies

Jul 3, 2012 2:44 AM in response to BGist

"I have two spreadsheets, one called "Expenses" and one called "Summary." Revenues has three tables."

"Spreadsheet" = "Document"?

Or do you mean "My document has two Sheets, "Expenses" and "Summary"

What is "Revenues"? Another Sheet in the current Document? A separate Document?

Is your profile accurate? It lists Mac OS X v10.4.10, one update before the final one for v10.4. Unlikely to be a contributing factor, but possible.