Apple Event: May 7th at 7 am PT

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I erase a photo background?

I am VERY new at Aperture and not at all savvy with any of the photo editing software. I'm reading the entire manual but am only on page 58 right now. In the meantime, I need to know how to "erase" the entire background so that only my subject remains. I've tried a couple things but have had no luck. Also, can you only crop in rectangular format? I thought I'd tried to lasso the subject and crop it out of the photo, but there doesn't seem to be a lasso, which would make this soooo much easier. Thank you.

MacBook, Mac OS X (10.6.8)

Posted on Jul 5, 2012 10:46 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 5, 2012 11:08 PM

Aperture does not support transparency, layers, and alpha channels - it is not a program for graphics compositing. Aperture excells at developing and adjusting your raw image to a printable image, but for compositing you are supposed to send your image to an external editor (Photoshop, Gimp, Pixelmator, ...) or to use an editing plug-in. And yes, you can only crop to rectangular sections.

What is it that you want to do? If you do not need transparency, just want to make the background of a subject less distracting, you can use brushes to brush in local adjustments (blur, colors, saturation). Or use the retouche brush to remove annoying details.

Regards

LĂ©onie

8 replies
Question marked as Best reply

Jul 5, 2012 11:08 PM in response to Marilyn Krzus

Aperture does not support transparency, layers, and alpha channels - it is not a program for graphics compositing. Aperture excells at developing and adjusting your raw image to a printable image, but for compositing you are supposed to send your image to an external editor (Photoshop, Gimp, Pixelmator, ...) or to use an editing plug-in. And yes, you can only crop to rectangular sections.