Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac App Store - App Damaged and Can't Be Opened?

Hello,

This is my first time posting on Apple Support Communities.

I am having a problem with my App Store with launching some purchased apps

When I try and download GTA: San Andreas or GTA: Vice City, they will download successfully, but when I try and launch these applications I get the following error message;

“Grand Theft Auto San Andreas” is damaged and can’t be opened. Delete “Grand Theft Auto San Andreas” and download it again from the App Store.

So, I trash the application and re-download, with the same result.

Here are the steps I have tried to resolve the issue;

1. Run Lion Recovery
2. Reinstall the full combo update (10.7.4)

3. Trashed the system preferences for the App Store

4. Tried to launch the application in a diffrent user

The issue also started after a update for GTA: San Andreas was released.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Blake

iMac (27-inch Mid 2011), Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jul 8, 2012 4:58 AM

10 replies

Jul 8, 2012 5:31 AM in response to blakeg2539

Welcome to Apple Support Communities 🙂

I trash the application and re-download, with the same result.

In case you are not aware, just dragging apps to the Trash doesn't delete all the associated files.

Use ths free utility > Download AppCleaner for Mac

If you haven't emptied the Trash as yet, click and hold down the Trash icon then click Open. Right or control click an app then click Put Back then use the AppCleaner utility then try re download the apps.

How to re download apps from the Mac App Store:

Open the App Store. From the menu bar click Store > Sign In

Click Purchases from the top of the App Store window.

Select which apps you want to re download. Then right or control click where you see Installed then click Install.

Make sure and use the same Apple ID used for the original purchase.