Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

How do I get rid of raw video clips after I have cut and taken what I need?

I am new to the mac word and still trying to learn what I can about operating it to it's maximum potential. I have been a Windows guy all my life and got tired of all the issues I had with Windows 7.

I understand now, that iMovie is not like iPhoto in regards to an organization or management software. It is mostly for just for editing. I have tried to find an answer to this burning question everywhere. But nobody seems to have a clear response.

The questions is: How can I get rid of the raw video footage after I have created my edited clip?

I have about 86 gigs of video which I plan to edit in the coming months. My understanding is iMovie will not allow me to get rid of any clip even if I have used a few seconds of it in an edited video. With HD camcorders these days, the space requirement is huge. If I could get rid of raw footage after the desired video has been made, it would be certainly help not to qucikly get to the limits on the HD.

So is this a possibility? How would I go about it? If I edit a clip and delete the raw video, will I lose the edited clip as well?

Thank you

Kas

Mac mini, Mac OS X (10.7.4)

Posted on Jul 9, 2012 1:27 PM

Question marked as Best reply

Posted on Jul 9, 2012 2:17 PM

An iMovie project is a text file in hexadecimal that contains instructions for creating your edited movie. The movie is created when you use the SHARE menu by running the instructions in the project.

The project instructions will reference the actual video files which are contained in the Events. So if you delete your Event files, your projects will no longer have anything to reference, and they will no longer work.